the White Garden 2016

Somehow this patio garden at my new-to-me house is telling me it wants to be white.  The patio, while not much to look at yet, could look very French and lovely if surrounded by terra cotta pots and white flowers.  I also prefer to have scented flowers near a patio.  These yellow flowers, which I inherited from the previous owner, will just have to go:

img_3380

Don’t worry, the yellow daisies will find a new home in the front garden.  And the clematis will stay because it’s just too healthy to move and I don’t have another good spot for it.  In the meantime, I have already removed the rock mulch (ugh!) and plunked a few white-flowered plants from my old house into this area:

img_3721

Above (the left side of the garage, left to right): white bell flower, (pale) pink meadow rue, 3 white bearded iris, candy tuft, russian sage (okay technically purple flowers but I’m counting the silvery leaves as white), and lamb’s ears.

img_3722

Above (the right side of the garage, left to right): nepeta ‘White Cloud’, 3 David phlox, white cranesbill (which will hopefully eventually be bush enough to hide the ugly sprinkler system controls).

I also want to add a white-flowered potentilla on either side of the door.

It’s not much to look at yet but it will look much better in spring, I promise!

One thought on “the White Garden 2016

Leave a Reply

