Sissinghurst garden updated

This garden area was filled with roses, peonies, delphiniums and monkshood when I moved in last fall.  These plants all make me think of English gardens so I dubbed this garden area ‘Sissinghurst’.  However, by fall it was a plain smudge of green so I’ve added a few more plants in front to carry things through.  I picked them for their foliage colour and texture so that they’ll add interest from spring through fall even when they’re not blooming.

IMG_0165

Front row plants, left to right: golden meadowsweet (small yellow leaves),  a patch of blooming white Canada violet (it was already here and is so pretty right now, but it’s a spreader so I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it), 2 dianthus ‘Early Bird Chili’ (fine, grey foliage), asiatic lilies, and a ‘Sunpower’ Hosta (big yellow leaves).

You can’t see them very well yet because I couldn’t bring myself to crop my neighbour’s gorgeous lilacs out of this picture.  🙂  More pictures to come!  I can’t wait to see what colour my peonies are!

Oh, and making a mental note to paint those sprinkler poles white.

To see this garden at other times of the year, click here and scroll down.

2 thoughts on “Sissinghurst garden updated

  1. The peonies were already here, so yes, they will bloom. They all have small buds on them at the moment. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

