clematis, white bellflowers, and sweet alyssum in the “White Garden”

IMG_4062

The clematis vines are *just a little* on the short side this year because I moved them in spring.  They were such buggers to dig up that I’m really just happy they survived at all!  The few flowers emerging (so far) on the left one are a bonus:IMG_4061

This is a pretty big change from the gravel filled strip that was this garden when I moved in less than a year ago (see the first post here).

(Yes, I did originally plan for this area to be a “White Garden” but I didn’t have anywhere else to put the existing clematises (clematii?) so I guess it is technically white and purple now.  I am terrible at sticking to a theme! On the other hand, this revised colour scheme is one good reason to also plant the annual sweet alyssum (small white and purple puffs of flowers across the front of this garden area, top photo) and the other, of course, is that it smells wonderful. At least I can turn my garden design weaknesses into something positive.)

 

Leave a Reply

