last project of the season – raised vegetable bed

I can tell I’ve burned myself out on garden work this year because the back garden is quite weedy at the moment and usually, even if I don’t have much time or energy, I can find the time to at least pull the tops off the weeds so they don’t go to seed.  But today I just stared at them through the window.  Fortunately, garden progress is still happening because my handy husband is building us a raised bed!

The back of the yard here is prime veggie garden territory thanks to all the sun it gets.   I’d like to get the box finished and filled up before fall so it’s ready to plant first thing in spring.  Once it gets staked down, I’ll put cardboard in the bottom to smother the grass, then fill it up with some homemade compost mixed with some purchased potting soil and vermiculite to keep things light.

IMG_0971

Thinking of doing the same?  Here is some info about raised bed veggie gardening from my old Calgary Garden Coach blog:

Leave a Reply

